rottencupcakes

my cupcakes bring all the boys to the yard

TiLT, part thirteen

with 2 comments

tilt

ork poster of chicago neighborhoods

ork poster of chicago neighborhoods

Ork Posters (pictured left); I just purchased this print (the extra large size!) that I’ve been eyeing for YEARS. I love love love it. They have a bunch of other cities as well. Done by a local Chicago designer, Jennifer Beorkrem.

• Drinking straws. Mostly in bubbly water + vanilla syrup. Often in just plain water too. I seem to consume more liquid whilst using a straw.

• A fabulous birthday which included seeing the movie: Up; which I thought was fantastic. I want to run around with a ton of balloons now.

• Legally changing my name & getting a new driver’s license with it on there. Julie Mack Boyce. I can’t drop my Mack but I did drop the owiak. Scott & I both would have liked to choose a completely new last name for both of us but we couldn’t decide on one in particular. Neither of us are entirely comfortable with the patriarchal leanings of the woman taking the man’s last name/becoming his property but I’m really in love with the notion of having a family name; as in my family unit has it’s own name/ a single last name. I’m not knocking anyone’s decision on the matter of should-she or shouldn’t-she, this is just what we decided on after a long thought-process. If we can ever decide on a new last name, we’ll go ahead and change it then.

• Lovely cool weather we’ve been having. Mid-70s to low-80s is pretty dang perfect. Sprinkles of rain too which are kind of damn glorious. But only when the sun is trying to shove itself out from behind the clouds.

What’s floating your love boat this week?

Written by Julie

July 9, 2009 at 10:53 am

Posted in TiLT

Tagged with

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I think that is really neat how you did your name change and that you all even considered doing an entirely new one. When my hubs and I married this past March, we both changed our last name to an old family name of his that we really liked. It’ll be hell for someone to make sense of our family tree someday, but we like it!

    artisterin

    July 10, 2009 at 7:18 am

    • That was another option we considered! But we were concerned about family’s feelings getting hurt if we didn’t choose from their side. I love that you both changed your names.

      Julie

      July 10, 2009 at 12:50 pm


Leave a Reply

